65.9 F
New York
Saturday, September 30, 2023

Latest Posts

Buttigieg Appoints Members for the Advisory Committee on Transportation Equity (ACTE)

The United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) has appointed 24 members to the Advisory Committee on Transportation Equity (ACTE).

ACTE falls under the Federal Advisory Committee Act, which was established in 1972 and its purpose is to make sure the committees provide relevant, objective, and open advice to the government while also complying with cost controls and record-keeping requirements.

The ACTE will provide recommendations about civil rights issues as well as various contexts of transportation equity from a variety of leaders.

The ACTE will also play a big role in the implementation of the Equity Action Plan and Strategic Plan. 

ACTE Chair and former USDOT Secretary Anthony Foxx said, “With once-in-a-generation investments in transportation infrastructure championed by this Administration comes an equal responsibility to ensure that no community is left behind. For that reason, I welcome the opportunity to join with other members of the ACTE to add external perspectives to the vital work that USDOT has launched to promote transportation fairness in communities across the country, to establish a record of historical fact, and to develop a series of recommendations for this and future administrations, other stakeholders, including potentially Congress, state and local governments, and a broader set of transportation sector stakeholders.”

These 24 new members were chosen from a pool of academics, private sector professionals, and the transportation industry. They include experts in community engagement, transportation planning, design, research, policy, advocacy, and diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility.

  • Anthony Foxx, Professor of Practice, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University (Chair)
  • Stephanie Gidigbi-Jenkins, Partner, North Star Strategies; Vice President, Communities First Infrastructure Alliance (Vice Chair)
  • Shoshana Akins, Manager, Public Participation Planning, Delaware Valley Region Planning Commission
  • Charles Brown, Founder, Equitable Cities.
  • Flora Castillo, President, Pivot Strategies.
  • Clarence Daniel-Angapak, Community Development Division Director, Association of Village Council Presidents
  • Veronica Davis, Deputy Director, Houston Public Works; Director, Transportation and Drainage Operations, City of Houston
  • Destiny (Thomas) Deguzman, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Thrivance Group
  • Yochai Eisenberg, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Disability and Human Development, University of Illinois-Chicago
  • Icema Gibbs, Vice President of Corporate Social Responsibility and DEI, JetBlue
  • Priya Sarathy Jones, Deputy Executive Director, Fines and Fees Justice Center
  • Vince Malone, Chief of Staff and Administration, WeGO Public Trust/Nashville MTA
  • Andrea Marpillero-Colomina, Sustainable Communities Program Director, GreenLatinos
  • Diana Mendes, Corporate President for Infrastructure and Mobility Equity, HNTB
  • Roger Millar, Secretary, Washington State Department of Transportation
  • Prashanthi Raman, Vice President, Global Government Affairs, Cruise
  • Azikiwe Rich, Executive Director of Performance Management, NYC Department of Transportation
  • Oliver Sellers-Garcia, Green New Deal Director and Senior Advisor to Mayor Michelle Wu, City of Boston
  • Tunya Smith, Director, Office of Civil Rights, North Carolina Department of Transportation
  • Camille C. Williams, Director, Social Responsibility, Transportation Diversity Council
  • Phil Washington, Chief Executive Officer, Denver International Airport
  • Eboni Wimbush, President and Chief Executive Officer, Airport Minority Advisory Council
  • Gregory Winfree, Agency Director, Texas A&M University Transportation Institute
  • Jing Zhang, Transportation Planner, Morgantown Monongalia Metropolitan Planning Organization

“We are grateful to the distinguished members of the ACTE, and I look forward to working with them as we continue our efforts to bring better infrastructure—and the jobs and opportunities that come with it—to every community across the country,” said U.S. Transportation Secretary Pete Buttigieg. 

Latest Posts


Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.